Skip to content

Business Notes: August 1, 2021 – The Gazette

The Gazette’s Business Notes is a compendium of the week’s promotions, new hires, certifications, added business lines and business events, among other items, in Cedar Rapids, Iowa City and the rest of the Corridor.

Information and photos can be submitted to Business Notes by email to [email protected], or on our site at

New Hires

The National Czech and Slovak Museum and Library hired Joan Flecksing as chief operating officer; Lori Lane, director of community development; Cynthia Nodland, executive assistant; Carol Olson, bookkeeper; and Andrea Siebenmann, museum store director.

GreatAmerica now has on staff Ryan Stulken as document specialist; Melinda Steil, imaging specialist; Austin Timmer, credit analyst; Thoran Kolpin and Ashley Broadie, account support advisers; Michele Kruse and Mark Allen, cash applications specialists; and Liz Swanson, business unit financial analyst.


The National Czech and Slovak Museum and Library promoted Josh Waldorf to lifelong learning specialist.


Nancy Buss with Advanced Therapy Specialists was certified as a clinical specialist in geriatric physical therapy with the American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties of the American Physical Therapy Association.


Lindsey Ricklefs, Katelyn Thompson and Tori Palmeri at UnityPoint Health-St. Luke’s Hospital received $3,500 scholarships from the Iowa Hospital Education and Research Foundation.


The Gazette’s June 8 Business Breakfast panel on “The Power Grid of the Future” can be viewed at Panelists were Mayuri Farlinger of Alliant Energy; Michaela Freiburger, Dubuque County Energy District; Kerri Johannsen, Iowa Environmental Council; Dusky Terry, ITC Midwest; and Chad Wiltz, Van Meter. BerganKDV, the business, financial and technology solutions company, is the series sponsor. Supporting partners are NewBoCo and Corridor Careers.

Mark Allen

Ashley Broadie

Nancy Buss

Joan Flecksing

Thoran Kolpin

Michele Kruse

Lori Lane

Cynthia Nodland

Carol Olson

Tori Palmeri

Lindsey Ricklefs

Andrea Siebenmann

Melinda Steil

Ryan Stulken

Liz Swanson

Katelyn Thompson

Austin Timmer

Josh Waldorf